Get to Know Denver

Join us in Denver—the Mile High City—and the Capitol Hill neighborhood, only minutes from downtown. Walk a few blocks to the 16th Street Mall and catch the free shuttle to restaurants and other attractions. Light rail connections are also found here.

In the Neighborhood

Coffee — Curious Coffee, 16th and Grant, or Penn Station, 17th and Pennsylvania (either way, a two block walk)

7-11 and FedEx — both are steps away on 17th Street

Marczyk’s Fine Foods - a Denver classic — https://marczykfinefoods.com/

Colorado State Capitol tours - https://leg.colorado.gov/content/tour-information

Molly Brown House - https://mollybrown.org/

Brown Palace Hotel — spa and high tea — https://www.brownpalace.com/

American Museum of Western Art - The Anschutz Collection, Navarre Building - https://anschutzcollection.org/visit/admission


Upper Downtown

Denver Art Museum — https://denverartmuseum.org/

Clifford Still Museum — https://clyffordstillmuseum.org/

Kirkland Museum of Fine & Decorative Art — http://www.kirklandmuseum.org/

Center for Colorado Women’s History — https://www.historycolorado.org/center-colorado-womens-history-byers-evans-house

Counterterrorism Education Learning Lab — https://www.thecell.org/

Denver Public Library — https://www.denverlibrary.org/

U.S. Mint — http://www.usmint.gov/about/mint-tours-facilities/denver/visiting-the-denver-mint

Money Museum at the Federal Reserve — https://www.kansascityfed.org/moneymuseum?location=1

History Colorado Center - https://www.historycolorado.org/history-colorado-center


Downtown and LoDo (lower Denver)

Coors Field / Colorado Rockies baseball — Catch a game with the Milwaukee Brewers, in town April 24–26! https://www.mlb.com/rockies/ballpark

Tattered Cover Bookstore - LoDo branch, independent and world famous! — https://www.denver.org/listing/tattered-cover-book-store/3774/

Museum of Contemporary Art — https://mcadenver.org/

El Chapultepec — classic spot for jazz since 1933 — http://www.thepeclodo.com/

Black American West Museum and Heritage Center — https://bawmhc.org/

RiNo (River North) Arts District - https://www.denver.org/about-denver/neighborhood-guides/river-north-art-district/

Auraria Campus Historic Neighborhood

Union Station (great place to eat, drink, shop, hang out) - https://unionstationindenver.com/

Dairy Block (great place to eat, drink shop, hang out) - https://dairyblock.com


East and South of Conference Hotel

Tattered Cover Bookstore - original location on Colfax — https://www.denver.org/listing/tattered-cover-book-store/3774/

Denver City Park

Denver Museum of Nature and Science (DMNS) — http://www.dmns.org/

DMNS IMAX Theater and Planetarium — https://www.dmns.org/visit/imax/

Denver Zoo — http://www.denverzoo.org/

Denver Botanic Gardens (Japanese garden portion celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2019) — http://www.botanicgardens.org/


Music & Performance

Denver Center for the Performing Arts — http://www.denvercenter.org/

The Bluebird Theater — https://www.bluebirdtheater.net/

The Ogden Theatre — https://www.ogdentheatre.com/

El Chapultepec — classic spot for jazz since 1933 — http://www.thepeclodo.com/

The Paramount — on the 16th Street Mall, https://www.paramountdenver.com/

Jazz Clubs in Denver - https://www.thedenverear.com/live-jazz-music-denver/


Day Trips and Overnights

Colorado Railroad Museum, Golden — https://coloradorailroadmuseum.org/

Red Rocks Amphitheater and Concert Museum, Morrison — https://www.redrocksonline.com/

U.S. 36 to Boulder, Lyons, Estes Park, https://www.visitestespark.com/ and Rocky Mountain National Park https://twitter.com/RockyNPS

I-70 west to Central City https://www.colorado.gov/centralcity (casinos), ski areas, and Glenwood Springs https://visitglenwood.com/

U.S. 40 to Winter Park https://www.playwinterpark.com/ and Grand Lake https://www.visitgrandcounty.com/ explore/towns/grand-lake


More

Shopping: Cherry Creek North — http://www.cherrycreeknorth.com/

Larimer Square — neighborhood in LoDo for shopping and food https://www.larimersquare.com/

Denver Beer Trail — https://www.denver.org/denver-beer-week/denver-beer-trail/

Denver Film Society — https://twitter.com/DenverFilm


For More Information

Visit Denver - http://Visitdenver.org

Links on every interest imaginable - https://303magazine.com/303guides/

The Denver Post — https://twitter.com/denverpost

Independent source of local news and culture: https://twitter.com/DenverWestword

Weather news for Denver and the Front Range: https://twitter.com/weather5280

Association of Independent Information Professionals

8550 United Plaza Blvd #1001
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
1.225.408.4400


© 2019 Association of Independent Information Professionals
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software