Sue Rugge Memorial Award

Sue Rugge photoIn lasting memory of her unique spirit of sharing expertise, experience, and knowledge to advance the independent information profession, the Association of Independent Information Professionals (AIIP) in 1999 established the Sue Rugge Memorial Award. The award is given to a Full member of AIIP who has significantly helped another member or members through formal or informal mentoring. The award is presented at the AIIP Annual Conference.


Sue Rugge, widely regarded as the pioneer of the independent information industry, was an active member of AIIP and served as president in 1988-1989. She demonstrated success in writing with The Information Broker's Handbook and in business with Information on Demand and The Information Professionals Institute.

Beyond her principal endeavors, Sue is fondly remembered by many AIIP members as a mentor in the purest form.

Nominations & award process

Year   Recipient      
 Arthur Weiss
 Margaret King
 Jennifer Burke
 Carol Compton

Jan Knight


Mary Ellen Bates


Jan Sykes

2015   Margaret King      
2014   Jane John      
2013   Debbie Bardon      
2012   Judy Koren      
2011   Marcy Phelps      
2010   Amelia Kassel      
2009   Ulla de Stricker      
2008   Risa Sacks      
2007   Ed Vawter      
2006   Cindy Shamel      
2005   Jodi Gregory      
2003   Barbara Quint      
2002   Amelia Kassel      
2001   Alice Sizer Warner      
2000   Mary Ellen Bates      

Page updated April 27, 2022

AIIP: Association of Independent Information Professionals:  Knowledge Delivered

Association of Independent Information Professionals

8550 United Plaza Blvd #1001
Baton Rouge, LA 70809

© 2022 Association of Independent Information Professionals
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software